I Dream of Parties Blog

Life's little celebrations.

8th Grade Promotion – Off to Issy High! June 14, 2015

Filed under: Cookies — idreamofparties @ 5:34 pm
Tags: ,

My step-daughter graduates or as they call it “will be promoted” from the 8th grade tomorrow.  The PTA moms have arranged a fun evening of obstacles courses, movies, games and more to celebrate the kids moving from middle school to high school.  When the sign up sheet came around I signed myself right up for cookies.  Well, cookies and 5 movie theater sized boxes of sour patch kids candy.  A few weeks ago I ordered these perfect capital I cutters.  I also decided to try out the edible icing art so that I could add the Issy High School logo on the cookies.  I found the edible icing art on Etsy at a shop called A Birthday Place for about $12 (or so). I provided the image and A Birthday Place copied this image onto the edible icing.  The process couldn’t have been easier.  I spread a thin layer of white buttercream frosting onto the round cookies.  While the cookies were being frosted I put the edible icing art in the freezer to ensure the art popped off the paper easily.  Once the cookies were frosted I applied the edible art and smoothed it out gently with my finger and then piped dots and zig-zag to cover the edges.  I’m so happy with how these turned out.  The kids are going to love them!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

