I Dream of Parties Blog

Life's little celebrations.

Oh Toodles! Isabel Turns 2! November 23, 2014

Filed under: Birthday Parties,Cookies — idreamofparties @ 10:55 am
Tags: ,

A couple of weeks ago a friend who is the mom of an almost two year old and a four week old asked me if she could hire me to take over her daughter’s 2nd birthday party.  She had a date, a guest list, a location and a couple of ideas about what type of theme her daughter would enjoy.  She basically had all the critical pieces but needed  a little crafty help pulling it all together.  That’s where I come in!  My hot glue gun and Silhouette machine were put to work!

Theme – Mickey Mouse Clubhouse

Decorations – primary party I used were red and black with a some blue and yellow accents.  One of the new ideas I had which I got from a neighbor was a large mouse silhouette made with tissue paper.  This project took about 6 hours total but the end result was worth it. I also took some simple store bought tissue fan decorations from the party store and added my own Mickey and Minnie decorations to personalize them for the party. The other decoration I made was a banner that spelled out “Isabel is 2”.  We’d seen something similar on Etsy and I knew that with my Silhouette machine I could make it myself.

Food and Beverage – For this party the mom already had a good idea about what to serve for the party so I just had labels created from Etsy to tie it in.  We served Annie’s Bunny Crackers, Hot Diggity Dogs, fruit cups, cheese cubes and of course sugar cookies.

Activity – The age group of the kids was 2-7 so we kept the activities minimal and offered Mickey Mouse coloring projects for the kids who we could get to sit still for a few minutes.

Favors – The party favors were an idea the mom had as well. Mini red gumball machines!  How cute is that?!?  See, I told you she had all the basics, she just needed a little help pulling it all together.  I helped take the machines out of their shrink wrap and tied favor tags with ribbon to tie them into the party.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

