I Dream of Parties Blog

Life's little celebrations.

And Baby Makes Three March 16, 2014

Filed under: Brides & Babies,Cookies — idreamofparties @ 6:40 pm

Over the weekend I had the joy of attending the baby shower for my sister-in-law H. My entire family is over the moon about Baby Girl K. The shower theme was a bit vintage with accents of doilies, circle garland, simple and pretty floral arrangements in classic canning jars. I wanted to bake an extra special cookie for such a special occasion. After spending a few minutes staring at the baby’s bedding, I decided on bird cages for the baby shower cookies. My usual go to frosting is buttercream but because the hostess requested the cookies not be packaged, I needed to go with a royal icing that would harden and stack well on a plate. These cookies have a royal icing base with an additional royal icing white piping for the cage detail and a tiny fondant bird.

I owe a special thank you to my lovely neighbor and friend B for giving me a few hours of her time and her skills to masterfully cover the cookies in a smooth and perfect layer of pale pink and pale yellow royal icing. I took it over from there but just didn’t trust my hit or miss luck with royal icing to confidently tackle such a special job. Thanks B!

Congratulations J & H! I’m so excited to be an Auntie!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

