I Dream of Parties Blog

Life's little celebrations.

And the Oscar goes to… March 1, 2014

Filed under: Cookies — idreamofparties @ 2:34 pm

I love the Oscars!!! No really, I love the Oscars. Admittedly I haven’t actually seen a nominated movie in years with the exception of this year I have seen one movie. I think Frozen was nominated for one of the songs. The real reason I watch the Academy Awards (and the Grammys too for that matter) is for the fashion. Vintage dresses are my absolute favorite but walk the red carpet in a frock by Calvin Klein, Monique Lhuillier or Versace and the chances are pretty good I’ll love it. Add all that million dollar jewelry, perfectly styled hair, spray tan, and sky high strappy heels and I’m in heaven.

Tomorrow night I have the pleasure of enjoying the 86th Academy Awards hosted by Ellen with some of my favorite mamas on the block. Champagne will be self-serve, wine will be a plenty, appetizers and truffle popcorn to nibble on while we admire the fashion. My contribution to the fun will be these Oscar statue sugar cookies. For these treats I used my new favorite (translation the only royal icing I can work with successfully) royal icing recipe and a mountain of fine gold sanding sugar.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

