I Dream of Parties Blog

Life's little celebrations.

Be My Valentine? February 14, 2014

Filed under: Holiday Celebrations — idreamofparties @ 12:29 pm

When I was in elementary school I loved Valentine’s Day at school. I’m all about ❤ and love and XOXO. For some reason one year in particular stands out. I'm not sure why as nothing really special took place but for whatever reason the memory of Valentine's Day in Mr. Voris' combined third and fourth grade modular classroom stands out. I remember the excitement. I vividly remember the yellow with red hearts and Raggedy Ann mandarin blouse my mom made for me. I remember the classroom party. I remember the sugar-free whoopee pie treats a little girl named Adina's mom made. I don't remember candy as part of our classroom Valentine exchanges but the fun notes shared with my classmates was something special.

My children are in Montessori school now which, don't get me wrong, provides a wonderful education for my children. However, sometimes the rigidity of it all and the lack of acknowledging any holiday except those when the school might be closed does bug me just the tiniest bit. I simply cannot rely on the school to provide these fun experiences for my children. What's a mom to do?

Last year a few mom friends and I took matters into our own hands and "piloted" a neighborhood Valentine exchange. The pilot phase was a mediocre success so we decided to do it again this year with more time for planning and a better marketing plan. Today, I am happy to announce, operation "Neighborhood Valentine Exchange" was a success! My children made these cheesy foam mailboxes (thank you Michael's) and put them on the front porch. For the first few days they checked the boxes no less than 15 times a day. Finally the week before Valentine's Day it snowed and gave us the perfect excuse to walk the neighborhood and deliver our treats. From this point forward the kids received fun surprises in their mailboxes every day for the next 5 days. It was Valentine's Day circa 1981 all over again! The joy my kids experienced checking their mailboxes every afternoon was something they will remember for years to come.

Happy Valentine's Day!

 

Leave a Reply

