I Dream of Parties Blog

Life's little celebrations.

The Yellow School Bus Birthday September 20, 2011

Filed under: Birthday Parties — idreamofparties @ 10:05 am

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To celebrate my twins’ 3rd birthday I decided to combine their interest in yellow school buses with my need for an activity to keep the kids busy yet contained.  I hired Dizzy’s Tumblebus to come to our home for an hour of jumping and tumbling in a renovated school bus equipped with tumbling gear.

Theme – School bus and everything school

Decorations – Red, Blue, and Yellow primary colors.  I used a plain yellow tablecloth but made a black paper runner decorated with white chalk to look like a chalkboard.  I repurposed lunch boxes as serving dishes for snacks for the kids.  A simple Happy Birthday pennant style banner was created for about $5 at a local craft store using a diecut machine.

Food and Beverage – This year I decided to go with a cake versus cupcakes.  Although I really wanted a school bus shaped cake, I couldn’t justify spending $475 at a fancy “featured on the Food Network” cake so I went with a simple round cake with a fondant school bus shape on the cake.  The round cake didn’t have the “wow” factor I would have liked, but it tasted wonderful and the birthday guests of honor didn’t know the difference.  In addition to cake we served simple snacks that you might find in a lunch box such as goldfish crackers, juice boxes, and string cheese.  I also found adorable school bus shaped cookies on Etsy for about $1.25 each.  Decorated cookies packaged in cellophane bags tied with ribbon make cute and easy goodies for the children to take home.

Activity – Dizzy’s Tumblebus was a reasonably priced option for an activity.  The kids spent an hour playing in the tumblebus before coming in the house for cake, ice cream, and snacks.

 

2 Responses to “The Yellow School Bus Birthday”

  1. Kristen Says:

    Hi, My son is interested in this theme too. I love what you did. Where did you get the school bus place tags with there names written on it on the table?

    Thank you for your time,

    Kristen
    K8DuShane@gmail.com

    • This was a fun theme for a party. The school bus place tags were something I found at the office supply store – Staples or Office Depot in the teacher’s section. I’ve seen them at Target and other craft stores as well. They worked perfectly with this theme and I had tons left over to use as little notes in lunch boxes later. Have fun! Erika


Leave a Reply

