I Dream of Parties Blog

Life's little celebrations.

Gingerbread & Santa June 17, 2010

Filed under: Holiday Celebrations — idreamofparties @ 5:01 pm

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The fact that my children’s birthdays all fall in the month of June is reason enough for me to throw a holiday party.  Last year I tossed around the idea of throwing a swanky cocktail party for our adult friends but then realized I could have more fun with a gingerbread party for our children and their friends.  Before Halloween I started pulling together ideas for decorations, invitations, activities, and anything else that caught my attention.  On the 20th of December my children hosted their first party!  Oh the excitement!  Our oldest daughter invited 10 of her friends and our 1 yr old twins invited their 2 playgroup friends Clara and Madyson. This was a wonderful day of candy, gingerbread house decorating, candy, Santa, cake, and more candy.

Decorations – Pick 2-3 color themes to carry throughout the event.  More than 3 and I think you risk losing the impact.  For this gingerbread party I used red, white, and green.  I purchased inexpensive red paper table clothes with a plastic liner to protect my dining table.  I also found some inexpensive place mats  in green.  Each place mat had gingerbread themed stickers on them as well as the child’s name written on it.  I added Kerr canning jars filled with small candies to be used for decorating.  The wide range of candy colors against the red tablecloth popped and created a festive table.  I also created height to my table using some vases wrapped in craft paper.  I used a hot glue gun, ribbon, and button embellishments to create Santa looking characters.  I placed them around the house, on the dining table, and on the buffet table to pull my theme together.

Food – This was an afternoon party so I didn’t really need to feed everyone.  I opted to serve small snacks like cheese and crackers, cookies, mini shaped cheese sandwiches, hot cocoa, spiced cranberry punch, and champagne for the adults.

Activity – Each of the children decorated their own mini gingerbread house to take home.  The kids spent about 45 minutes carefully placing each candy on their house.  Because of the wide range of ages we had some coloring projects and a short Christmas movie on hand to keep them busy while the older children finished up.

 

Leave a Reply

